Review: Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

August 8, 2017 book review 2

Review: Little Monsters by Kara ThomasLittle Monsters by Kara Thomas
Published by Delacorte Press
Publication Date: July 25, 2017
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Goodreads, Amazon

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.
Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.
Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas lives up to all the hype you guys! I’ve been a huge fan of Thomas’s ever since her Prep School Confidential days. She has a way of masterfully crafting dynamic and complex characters with an attitude to beat. She has found her niche in writing crime thrillers and she excels at it, if you ask me. Mysteries and thrillers are probably my favorite genre out there. I read so much of it though that I’m pretty quick to figure out the whodunit and despite how self-congratulatory that may seem, I so dislike that! I want to be left guessing until the end. I want to be completely caught off guard wondering how on earth I missed those sneaky little breadcrumbs dropped throughout the book. Where am I going with this?

Kara Thomas leaves me guessing every. single. time.

Since I have been following her YA writing career since that first Prep School Confidential book came out, I can assure you she has gotten better and better at writing in this genre with every book. Little Monsters is a mystery lover’s dream in a tightly bound young adult novel.

When Kacey moves to Broken Falls, she’s invited to join a tight-knit group of best friends consisting of Bailey and Jade. While Kacey likes to stay home with her family, Bailey is adventurous and won’t take no for an answer. When Bailey goes missing one night, all eyes are pointed at Kacey. Kacey’s desperate to find her friend and get the blame off herself. What’s really interesting about this book is we start in the present time but every couple of chapters or so we see a diary entry from Bailey. I loved getting to see inside this missing teen’s head. We don’t really know her very long in the present time so it’s amazing what goes on behind Kacey’s back. I love Thomas’s writing style and how her characters are never what they seem at face value. Everyone has their secrets and they all have their characters flaws.

This story focuses on the truth about Bailey’s disappearance slowing unraveling and every new revelation caught me so off guard. I was constantly saying ___ has to be responsible but then something would happen and that suspect no longer was on my radar, just to be put back on it again. It was a constant back and forth guessing game and I loved that. The final reveal of what happened to Bailey was quite chilling!

My only minor tiff, if you can even call it that, is about the town’s folk legend of the Red Woman. I read a short story that takes place prior to Little Monsters called Wrath that has the Red Woman in it. This story was creepy as hell and had me really excited to get an in-depth novel that delved more into this woman and the town of Broken Falls. Unfortunately, we really didn’t get much information about this lady and she View Spoiler » I guess I was thinking this book was going to turn into something more along the lines of a paranormal thriller? Idk. Little Monsters was still was awesome regardless!

If you’re looking for a thrilling, chilling read with unpredictable characters Little Monsters by Kara Thomas has you covered!


TLDR:

Chilling. Unpredictable. You’ll think everyone in this town has taken Bailey at least once. It’ll leave you guessing until the very end. Worth purchasing for sure!


4.5 (basically 5!) Thought Clouds

Christine

2 Responses to “Review: Little Monsters by Kara Thomas”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)